It’s a Disease

Pg. 97 in Courage to Change – Reading for Apr. 6

“Just as the common cold has symptoms such as a runny nose and sneezing, alcoholism also has symptoms such as blackouts and mood changes. I have to accept that I, too, display symptoms similar to that of the alcoholic, among them obsession, anxiety, anger, denial, and feelings of guilt. These reactions to alcoholism affect my relationships and the quality of my life, but as I learn to recognize them and to accept that I have been affected by a disease, I begin to heal. In time, I discover feelings of self-worth, love, and spiritual connectedness that help me to counteract the old responses. No matter how severely I have been affected, Al-Anon can help restore me to sanity.
Alcoholism is stronger than good intentions or genuine desires. I didn’t choose this family disease; neither did the alcoholic. So I try to behave with compassion for us both.”

Today’s Reminder

My acceptance of this family disease allows me to stop wasting energy fighting a hopeless battle, and to turn instead to genuine sources of help and hope  ~Al-Anon and my Higher Power.

**********

As for my Higher Power…

On the last day, that great day of the feast, Jesus stood and cried out, saying, “If anyone thirsts, let him come to Me and drink. He who believes in Me, as the Scripture has said, out of his heart will flow rivers of living water.”     ~John 7:37-38 (thank you, my friend, for bringing this quite appropriate verse to my mind today)

Leave a Reply

