Forcing a Solution

Excerpted from One Day At A Time In Al-Anon page 116, April 25:

…the more I try to force the issue, with tears, reproaches and threats, the worse it gets.

Al-Anon can help me to cope with the situation in an entirely different way, by showing me how to recognize and correct my mistaken attempts to force a solution….

Today’s Reminder

I am powerless over…another person…. The First Step tells me this, and it tells me, too, that I must acknowledge that my life has become unmanageable. My first task is to manage my own life….

“help me to find peace of mind within myself by uniting myself with God’s power and guidance. That is the spiritual way out of my difficulties–the only sure way.”

There are days when I seek Father when I have difficulties with my students. However, there are WAY TOO MANY days when I try to “force the issue” with “reproaches and threats.” Father help me think before I speak with my students, especially when their behavior is difficult for me, today and every day.

Leave a Reply

