Breaking the “No Talk” Rule

Why do I spend so much time sleeping, anesthetizing with sugar and screen time, or procrastinating?  I believe it’s because I am reluctant to face my sin, confess it, and move forward.

Codependency has a lot of sick rules.  Many of us grew up with this rule:  “We don’t air our dirty laundry in public.”  It is a rule designed to keep us in slavery to our destructive habits.  Break it!  ~Pat Springle, Conquering Codependency

This is Step Five:  Admitted to God, to ourselves, and to another human being the exact nature of our wrongs.

2 Samuel 11 tells the story of David’s sins of adultery and murder.  Yet, God called David a man after his own heart!  (1 Samuel 13:14.) How is it possible to reconcile Adulterous David with David King of Israel?  The answer is confession.

As Christians, we have already obtained forgiveness for every wrong, past, present, and future.  This, however, is an abstract concept.  Confession–agreeing with God that we are wrong–is the means by which we experience that forgiveness.

David’s confession:

How blessed is he whose transgression is forgiven, whose sin is covered.  How blessed is the man whom the Lord does not impute iniquity, and in whose spirit there is no deceit.

When I kept silent about my sin, my body wasted away through my groaning all day long.  For day and night Thy hand was heavy upon me; my vitality was drained away as with the fever heat of summer.

I acknowledged my sin to Thee, and my iniquity I did not hide; I said, I will confess my transgressions to the Lord; and Thou didst forgive the guilt of my sin.  ~Psalm 32:1-5

David did not only confess his sin to God, he published it!  This example shows that breaking secrecy is essential to living under grace in recovery.  If I follow David’s example and work my Fifth Step, maybe I can kick Oreos and Facebook to the curb.

Keeping the secrets keeps us in slavery to our destructive habits, while confession opens the door for release and healing.  ~Springle

Thank you, Father, for pursuing me when I forget to pursue you, for providing a way for me to be your precious child, and for your healing hands.

Readers, I’d love to hear your experiences with confession, healing, and/or working Step Five.

From Echoes of Eternity, page 97, May 9:

He healeth the broken in heart, and bindeth up their wounds.  ~Psalm 147:3

I am the Lord who healeth thee.  My Spirit goes forth to renew the souls of My people–souls that are wounded and torn by the thorns of this fallen world.  They are thorns of worldly care and fleshly lust, of ambition and pride, stubbornness and hardness of heart.  All together they form a kind of obstacle course over which you must go to complete your journey.  Left unhealed these wounds prove fatal.  Their infection spreads to others as well.  My healing has a double effect.  It binds up and purifies the soul and intervenes between souls.

Much of My healing is hidden from view, even to the soul itself.  So do not doubt the process. It is going on.  I am the Lord who healeth thee.

3 thoughts on “Breaking the “No Talk” Rule

  1. I wasn’t sure how to approach this topic in my own thoughts, but thanks to your biblical referencing and insight, I can get started on one of the hardest writing projects almost nobody will ever read. Thanks lass,
    Dan.

Leave a Reply

