Cleaning wounds

From Echoes of Eternity, July Twenty-fifth, Page 158.

The blood of Jesus Christ cleanseth us from all sin.  ~1 John 1:7

The wounds of the soul must be cleansed before healing can take place.  The cleansing process is painful for you, because the stains are the result of your sinful choices in the past.  The more you are aware of this, the easier it makes your cooperation with the process.  The light of truth exposes the ugliness of these sores, but the Balm of Gilead then restores lost beauty.  Marvel at the goodness that directs My operation, and do not flinch at the necessary pain.

Once again, Father speaks directly to me through Hal.  Yes, it is painful.  I’ve lived through very few things as painful as this has been.  Yes, it’s the result of my sinful choices – some willfully sinful, others ignorantly so.

Praise and glory and thankfulness to my Father, who is making something beautiful from my pain, rather than letting it be wasted, and who does not tire of reminding me when I am wont to forget.

I am especially grateful for Father’s mercy and grace when I deserve it the least.

Leave a Reply

